Food Safety News and Alerts
Effective immediately, our food handler card process will be entirely online through statefoodsafety.com
- Visit our website – jchdwv.org
- Click on Food Safety / Food Handlers Card.
- Click on the course button –
Please note – the $30 charge covers the course, the test, and a 2-year food handler card. You will receive two copies of your food card. Please print and keep one for yourself and give the other copy to your manager. Be sure to keep a copy of your certificate in case you lose your card, as you will need it to obtain a replacement card.
ATTENTION: Certified Food Protection Managers:
If you have a current ANSI-accredited Certified Food Protection Manager Certificate you do not need to get a food handlers card, however, you must have a copy of your certificate available at your food establishment.
The West Virginia Bureau for Public Health has provided the guidance below on the safety of takeout and delivery.
The CDC, Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and US Department of Agriculture (USDA) are not aware of any reports at this time that suggest COVID-19 can be transmitted by food or food packaging. Current evidence shows the biggest identifiable risk of transmission of COVID-19 is being around individuals who are symptomatic (and to a lesser extent, infected but not showing symptoms). Food businesses should be following employee health policies and health department recommendations to keep any ill individuals home.
In order to adhere to social distancing recommendations and to keep everyone safe, we ask that you now obtain your food card via mail or email.
Check payments: Please make checks ($10 per card) payable to Jefferson County Health Department and include a phone number on the top of the check. Mail to the address below along with a copy of you training certificate. Be sure to include a return address or email so we can send your card to you.
Jefferson County Health Department
1948 Wiltshire Road, Suite 1
Kearneysville, WV 25430
Credit card payments: Please complete the form below and email to JeffersonENV@wv.gov, along with a copy of your training certificate.
By order of the Governor of West Virginia:
ALL RESTAURANTS, BARS, AND CASINOS SHALL CLOSE EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY.
Restaurants may provide carry-out, delivery, or drive-through services, but shall not allow customers to dine inside or in outside seating areas. No sit down service may be provided in any of these establishments.
We encourage all of our food establishments that will be providing carry-out, delivery, or drive-through service to follow recommended guidelines that have been provided to help prevent the spread of this virus. See recommendations below.
Please contact our office with any questions or concerns you have.
*This post was edited on March 19, 2020 to update recommendations and guidelines.
The Jefferson County Board of Health has adopted a reinspection fee of $75.00. This fee is intended to recover some of the Jefferson County Health Department’s (JCHD’s) costs when non-compliance or incomplete work requires follow-up inspections by the JCHD. The reinspection fee should not be construed as a civil penalty (fine) or punitive measure. For full details you can view or download the handout below:
Beginning in February 2020 we will only be issuing food handlers’ cards on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 9:00-11:00 AM and from 1:00-3:30 PM. For full details on how to get your card please visit our food handler page.
Restaurant and retail food managers may be interested in these free posters and other educational materials on the FDA’s website: https://www.fda.gov/food/retail-food-industryregulatory-assistance-training/retail-food-protection-industry-educational-materials These materials are available in multiple languages. You can download and print them yourself or order copies by filling out a publication request form.
This link will also be available on our Food Safety page and Resources page.
Jefferson County Health Department sanitarians are continuing education on and compliance with the newly implemented FDA Food Code. One of the changes from the previous code is that food establishments must have a policy and procedure for clean-up after incidents involving vomiting or diarrhea. An example policy that can be printed and edited for your establishment is below.
The Board of Health has made the following revision of their Local Rules, Policies, and Procedures to align with state regulations:
4.2 – Training and Certification of Food Protection Managers and Food Handlers
Food Protection Managers – Effective January 1August 30, 2019, whenever food is being prepared or served in a food establishment (including temporary food establishments), the “person in charge” on the premises shall be a currently certified Food Protection Manager through one of the ANSI/CFP-accredited Food Protection Manager certification programs. A waiver of this requirement may be made for retail food facilities where only commercially prepackaged food is handled and sold and temporary food vendors serving only prepackaged foods if they possess a current Jefferson County or West Virginia statewide food handler card.
Food Handlers – Effective January 1, 2019, every food handler in Jefferson County shall possess a food handler card issued by the Jefferson County Health Department or a statewide food handler’s card issued by another West Virginia jurisdiction. A food handler card shall not be issued unless the person has completed either a food handler training course conducted by the Jefferson County Health Department or an online ANSI-accredited food handler training course within the previous 30 days.
Public comments on this revision may be emailed to JeffersonLHD@wv.gov or mailed to 1948 Wiltshire Road, Suite 1, Kearneysville, WV 25430.
Effective April 1, 2019
Food handlers that possess a current, non-expired food handler card will be able to attend a proctored food handler test, in order to obtain their required food training certificate, rather than attending the food handler class and testing.
What this means:
If a food handler has a current, non-expired food handler card, he or she may read the food handler training booklet and then sign up to attend a proctored food handler test. Each person attending the class must provide their valid, non-expired food card, a photo ID, and sign a provided waiver stating they have read and understood the provided study materials. Upon achieving a passing grade, the food handler will then be issued a food training certificate, which he or she may use to obtain their food handler card during regular food handler card processing days.
What happens if you should not pass the renewal test?
Any persons that attends the proctored test and does not receive a passing grade, will be required to attend Jefferson County Health Departments’ Food Handler Training Class and receive a passing test grade before obtaining their food handler card.
How do I sign up?
Renewal tests are by appointment only. Please visit our calendar to determine which test date and time suits your schedule. Once you have read the study materials and select a renewal test date, you may then call 304-728-8416 extension 3021 or 3037 to schedule your appointment.
Information we will need to schedule your appointment:
We will need your first and last name, contact number, and place of employment to schedule your appointment.
You must bring your current, non-expired food handler card, valid photo ID, and sign our statement of understanding (provided during your appointment) to participate in the renewal testing
**Our office is working very diligently to offer our class and renewal test option for those who speak Spanish, but currently our office is only able to offer our class and renewal test in English. We apologize for the delay, as our translators are thoroughly working on this**